Serenaded by a Northern Cardinal


Yesterday the sun was shining. I visited a friend, then, as I pulled out of her driveway to go home, I was drawn to the lake instead. I drove along Lake Drive heading north along Lake Simcoe. I love looking out at the lake. The flash of red caught my eye and I had to pull over. I got out of the car, camera in hand and walked back, hoping I could find him.

Enjoying the spring sunshine

Sure enough, his song led me right to his perch in the still leafless trees on the edge of the lake. The Northern Cardinal is one of the most distinct birds in our area. The male is a beautiful red and his song is equally distinctive.
Both male and female have the same beautiful sound.
Sometimes it sounds like purdy purdy purdy… whoit, whoit, whoit, whoit.
Another call resembles what-cheer, what-cheer … wheet, wheet, wheet, wheet.

looking out to sea

15 responses to “Serenaded by a Northern Cardinal

  1. Oh, I see, it’s the cardinal that I heard singing a few days ago. But I think it’s the female one. It sang so beautifully and for a long moment, that it really brightened up my morning that day.

  2. The little fellow is gorgeous against that blue sky. Of course, a male cardinal is beautiful in any setting. 🙂

  3. What a beautiful bird, made even more stunning by the sun shining on him. I have still to have the pleasure of seeing this bird. One day…..
    Thanks for sharing.
    Kate

  4. He’s beautiful! I frequently have a difficult time capturing the male cardinal (with my camera, of course).

  5. They are beautiful birds. I love to hear their bird speak in the Spring.

  6. I thought I’d already read this post, but I haven’t. Another blogger, who I can’t recall, had similar photos. Must be Red Cardinal season 🙂

  7. Since I live in Kentucky and the Cardinal is our State Bird…I’m especially partial…but, that “red” just stands out doesn’t it… ~mkg

  8. They look like that and can sing as well! It’s a bit like those women that have all the beauty and brains too 🙂

  9. I love their color…Peace Jaz

  10. beautiful birds, beautiful pics!

  11. Beautiful! I had never seen a cardinal until we travelled through the midwestern States a couple of years ago. We don’t have them here in western Canada.

  12. Especially love the last photo where the cardinal is framed by the triangle of branches.

  13. stunning: that glorious red against the blue.

  14. those are my fav birds, and there are plenty around here to see

  15. Beautiful photos – thanks for sharing – love cardinals – that pop of red!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

