Who ate the Spider?


It must be because the kick plate is removed from under the cupboards. We are still waiting to hear what damage the insurance covers. The flood is dried up, but the kitchen is still dismantled.

A spider crawled out of its regular “under the sink”  hiding place, silly thing.

"I am just minding my own business, taking a stroll.."

The cat has good eyesight, the poor spider managed to make it to the middle of the kitchen floor before getting whacked across the room. Struggling to its eight little legs, it limped out into the middle again. Clover, the cat, sniffed at it, pawed it, toyed with it..

"Thanks guys, for getting me a new toy.." says the cute and innocent kitty cat

I feel guilty. I should have rescued the poor scared spider. Do spiders have feelings? Can a spider taste fear? I contemplated these things as I snapped a few more photos.

The spider must be scared, Its hair is standing on end.

Suddenly, the cat went in for a closer look.

"hey little buddy.."

That was the last I saw of the spider.  I am left holding a camera and singing that old children’s song;

There was an Old Lady song

There was an old lady who swallowed a fly, I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady who swallowed a spider, That wriggled and wiggled and tiggled inside her; She swallowed the spider to catch the fly; I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – Perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady who swallowed a bird; How absurd to swallow a bird. She swallowed the bird to catch the spider, She swallowed the spider to catch the fly; I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – Perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady who swallowed a cat; Fancy that  to swallow a cat! She swallowed the cat to catch the bird, She swallowed the bird to catch the spider, She swallowed the spider to catch the fly; I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – Perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady that swallowed a dog; What a hog, to swallow a dog; She swallowed the dog to catch the cat, She swallowed the cat to catch the bird, She swallowed the bird to catch the spider, She swallowed the spider to catch the fly; I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – Perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady who swallowed a cow, I don’t know how she swallowed a cow; She swallowed the cow to catch the dog, She swallowed the dog to catch the cat, She swallowed the cat to catch the bird, She swallowed the bird to catch the spider, She swallowed the spider to catch the fly; I don’t know why she swallowed a fly – Perhaps she’ll die!

There was an old lady who swallowed a horse… She’s dead, of course!

She should have gone straight to the cat.

20 responses to “Who ate the Spider?

  1. That is a nasty looking thing! Yikes! 😦

  2. We have spiders like these also. I don’t like spiders, but your macros are really good!

  3. Lot of ‘murder’ stories doing the rounds 🙂 Nice pics even if I close my eyes at the zoomed spider ones!

  4. Wow – that first picture made me think it was a HUGE spider, until I saw the one with the cat. Thank goodness it was not as big as I thought!

  5. I, too, am not a spider fan, but I thought the detail that you managed to get was incredible. The pattern on its back is stunning and we miss so much of this intricate camoflage because we don’t get close enough. Thank goodness for cameras and strong lenses.

  6. Our cat eats the HUGE huntsmans we have here every chance he gets! I think it’s disgusting but he loves them. I only try and rescue them if they’re outside, if they’re in the house I figure they are fair game. Cool spider close ups!

  7. i am scared scared out of mind of spiders arachnophobia…this scared the crap out of me, but i have to say they are amazing shot…just let me pick myself up off the floor!

  8. Great post and photos, at least the cat enjoyed itself and had a little meal.

  9. Us don’t like spiders, any size. Brave cat 🙂

    Have a nice day 🙂

  10. A prize for bravery in the face of extreme spiderdom getting so close to that scary beastie 🙂

  11. Thank you for the beautiful pictures, the study of morality as applied to cats and spiders, and the marvelous song of the woman who swallowed a fly, which I had never encountered before.

  12. LOL I love your post! (but I’m squeamish around spiders!) And that first photo makes the spider seem VERY LARGE! 😉
    I love the Old Lady song. I sang it so much during my years of teaching kindergartners, I can sing it in my sleep!
    Your post is so clever and creative….and so is Miss Kitty! Mee-ow.

  13. You get the ‘funny’ award for the night. This was a great post. I am going to cut and paste the caption (which I remember from childhood) onto the clipboard, to print and read to the grandchildren. Please let me know, if you rather I didn’t, before I do. Thanks. 🙂 And thanks for a really entertaining post. …. GREAT JOB!

  14. Wonderful post – and great pics showing the curiosity of your cat!

  15. Wow great capture!
    Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

  16. I would have probably been afraid for my cat Jill to play with the spider…because “I DON”T LIKE THEM!…Great pictures and story! …quite entertaining~ mkg

  17. i enjoyed that a lot, thanks!

  18. Cute cats . . . but I am a true arachnophobic

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

