Why a DIY Disaster Equals Flood


Why do I have strangers sitting on my kitchen counter?

My entry in this week’s “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual.”

Strangers are on my counter

It all started in the bathroom. A little DIY project. The toilet would not stop running, an easy fix. The trouble began with the wrong size part. Too late to return it, the project will wait until morning, Hubby turned off the water, we try to conserve where we can.

After a good night’s sleep, I arose eager to start my fabulous Friday. In my morning fog, I wondered why my feet were wet. Skipping forward, and after much time using every available towel, the water in the bedroom, bathroom and hallway is somewhat cleaned up. You have already guessed that the toilet seal is broken and the water not completely turned off.

Time for breakfast. Disaster zone #2. More water in the kitchen. This is not good. The counter is a pool of water, as is the floor. Above the window there is a giant paint bubble holding a gallon of water. Inside the cupboards everything is floating.

We found more towels and began mopping and wringing. It was time to call the Co-Operators Insurance. Yep, the guys with the dash.  Within the hour, we had a claims adjuster and an estimator from ServiceMaster at our door. They delivered the good news and the bad news. Yes, our insurance covers this disaster, but we have a $1,000 deductible, unless our damage is high enough to waive the deductible. (Is it OK to pray for a bigger repair bill?)

Cutting a hole in the wet ceiling.

Before long the restoration crew arrived and set about their work. Their “destroy first and repair later” job. The kitchen cupboard had to be removed from the wall (gently).

Gently removed the kitchen cabinet.

The carpets in the bedroom ripped open and seven huge and very noisy fans and two very large dehumidifiers set in place. I am happy to report that they cleaned up as they went.

Two fans on the counter, two on the floor and three upstairs.

Look at the clock, that is 7:50pm, this has been an all day affair. Now we are in waiting mode… like watching the paint dry with a jet engine in the room. My head hurts.

Stay tuned for chapter two of DIY disaster rescue.

21 responses to “Why a DIY Disaster Equals Flood

  1. Pingback: Three Awards by One Blogger | terry1954

  2. What a horrible experience (well, not horrible like an earthquake causing buildings to crash down, but everything is relative, and to me this is definitely enough to be classified as horrible).

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: unusual « 3rdculturechildren

  4. I lived in a basement when I was going to uni and it flooded twice. That was enough for me. I hope your home is back to normal soon!

  5. How awful! Hoping everything is under control by now!

  6. My goodness. Sorry for your troubles. Hope you have a speedy disaster recovery.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  7. What an awful way to start your weekend ….so sorry you have to go through this. It happened to my parents about five years ago and I remember what a huge mess it was. 😦

  8. Oh no. Amazing what a disaster a drip drip drip can make.
    I’m so sorry for what you are going through. Hoping your headache goes away and all is back to normal as quick as possible.

  9. On No – Here’s to things getting back to normal once again!!!

  10. Oh my!!! There is no question: you definitely get the prize for the MOST captivating “unusual” photo story. I just wish that prize were $1,000. I will be praying for the Lord’s provision.

  11. Almost the same thing happened to us! Nearly three years ago after just moving into this house, the ground level toilet overflowed into the hallway and furnace room/storage. Had to call BCAA Insurance, who called ServiceMaster. We had a $500 deductable, (which, after the event, was prompltly raised to $1000 for three years.) It happened in November. It took until February for them to completely re-carpet a room, replace drywall, repaint, etc. And the total cost covered by insurance was $6500.00Cdn, less deductable. In November the 3 years will be over, and we’ll be allowed to go back to a $500 deductable.
    It is very inconvenient, but for all we carp about insurance–thank heaven for insurance.

  12. Oh no! I’ve had a similar disaster when the bedroom ceiling came down! Hope its soon sorted 🙂

  13. This sounds like a real disaster. Hoping that you’ll be back to normal, soon. I am sure that you’ve learned all you wanted to learn from the experience… and more

  14. Sometimes it is cheaper to just bite the bullet and hire a plumber. ;( I am so sorry for your disaster … been there, done that. It is not fun. 😦

  15. Oh my. I hope everything gets fixed and you are back to normal soon.

  16. Stepping My Way to Bliss

    You have my sympathies…all of them. In our old house we had issues with basement flooding–multiple times. Cleaning out water is a pain because of making sure it is all completely dried thus no future mold. I have a feeling you may exceed $1000–maybe not since you caught things and acted quickly.

  17. Oh my goodness! I hope things are restored to normal soon.

  18. Oh no. Hope it all gets straightened out soon.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

