Gravel Eating Sheep in the Northwest Territories


While driving on the highway toward Yellowknife in Canada’s Northwest Territories, we pulled over to photograph some sheep. They were busy on the side of the highway feasting on the gravel. I understand their real name is Thinhorn Sheep but are also called Stone Sheep (I have not confirmed this name)
The sheep were not afraid and allowed me to approach fairly close. I am sure they were actually posing. We lingered for a while watching this adorable family.

The family that eats together stays together.

Yep, that is rocks they are eating... yummy.

Is Mr. Billy inviting me to join the family dinner?

The baby is smiling, I am sure of it.

18 responses to “Gravel Eating Sheep in the Northwest Territories

  1. How lovely “family” photo.

  2. A well consequence with a n effective narrative flow. Makes you smile. šŸ™‚

  3. Lovely, and very amusing!

  4. Great photos! I love how close you were to the animals.

  5. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    Wow! They actually eat gravel…most interesting. Great pictures. Hugs and nose kisses from Chancy and me

  6. Love the pics; didn’t know there was such a thing as gravel eating sheep.

  7. Lovely shots! Especially the one where you are being invited to the family dinner!

  8. Fascinating. And a little weird šŸ™‚

  9. Aw lovely, I hope that get some better nourishment!

  10. To me it looks like a cross between a goat and a sheep hehe Great pics

  11. love your photos! Love the expressions, Maggie, and your accompanying words are wonderful! The baby is so cute!
    We saw some…maybe they were different…..the day we arrived in Banff, and were driving on the outskirts.
    They were also eating gravel and just stayed there! I wonder if it helps with digestion?

  12. Loving your pics and yes the last one that little guy is certainly smiling – ha!

  13. They are so cute, but surely have a strange taste…:-)

  14. AHHHHH! I love them all. Can I have them? (smile )

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  15. Love the family picture!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

