Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge


I don’t usually indulge in food, not often anyway. The challenge came in and I wondered what do I indulge in? I have to say I do indulge in a trip now and then. Last summer, I indulged on an Alaskan Cruise. I went with my two sisters and two of my nieces. We sailed on a rather small cruise ship, the Volendam, with Holland America.

The Volendam

I have posted about parts of the cruise previously, including the rock climbing. The dinner after the rock climbing event was a formal dinner. I shared a room with Jennifer, the youngest in the family. As we dressed in our finery, we indulged in a glass of wine…

Just one glass.... honest.

With great fanfare, the waiters, complete with bakers hats, marched into the room waiving the napkins in the air. They swooped in and ceremoniously laid a napkin on every lap.

Napkin Parade

My sister Louise received her napkin with great fanfare.

We have a lot of fun with our server, He made us laugh and helped make the evening a lot of fun

The delicious meal ended with desert, a Baked Alaska. Another grand parade.

Ceremonial paraie through the dining hall with dessert.

The week long trip was a week of indulging. everything from wonderful food to massages and manicures as well as an opportunity to see part of the world that is magnificently beautiful with its glaciers and ice.

29 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge

  1. Going on a cruise is the ultimate indulgence! I would like a vacation now please…haha! Great pictures Maggie!!!!

    @))–>>—–

  2. Wonderful pictures Maggie! It must have been a wonderful cruise experience!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge | Stories of My Wandering Feet (& Mind)

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge « Marcia Clarke–La Chica Writes

  5. Stepping My Way to Bliss

    LOVE that boat picture…too cool.

  6. Great entry for this week theme Indulge my friend
    you have a great trip experience there 🙂

  7. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    That first picture is amazing with the mountains in the background, the ship and the water and then in the forefront the rock and beautiful flowers…wow, what a capture. I have never been on a cruise but have often wondered what they were like. Thanks for the peek into yours…very nice pictures. Hugs

  8. North to Alaska – a great challenge!

  9. Great food, massages and manicures on a cruise? Verrrry nice…

    As for your jolly server, that smile makes me think that he is a Filipino like me. A lot of my countrymen work for such cruise ships and they always come home with stories about the wonderful people they meet. 🙂

  10. This has to be the ultimate in indulgence. What a wonderful response to this week’s challenge. I love your waiter’s smile. I am sure that he added so much to your week on the high sea.

  11. Pingback: Indulge in Gratefulness « Simply Charming

  12. A cruise . . . nice way to indulge! 🙂

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge « Reflections in a Puddle

  14. I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award on my post today, Day 89. You’ve got a great blog.

  15. I’ve never seen a napkin parade before. Looks like fun!

  16. Now that’s the right way to indulge! No phone calls, meetings, sit back and let someone else take care of you!
    I’ve been on only one cruise but I intend to do more! 😉 Your photos are great….looks like you had a wonderful time!
    We were on a Holland America cruise…they do know how to pamper/indulge!

  17. Looks like you had a great time!
    Thanks for sharing!

  18. I have to admit we are cruise junkies: A totally wonderful indulgence.

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge « The Incredible Lightness of Seeing

  20. looks great, I like the idea of a cruise ship thats not too big. The baked alaska is very tempting 🙂

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Indulge « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  22. It looks like a good time was had by all.

  23. It looks like you guys had a great time. Good for you!

  24. I see we like to indulge in the same thing. Great photos, looks like you had a great time.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  25. Looks like there was plenty of wine to indulge in on the cruise!

  26. Sounds like a great trip!

    Courtney Mara
    http://CourtneyMara.com

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

