Today is a Snow Day


I have anxiously waited for a snowstorm. I have wanted it to snow for weeks now. I am not a skier, I don’t own a snowmobile. I am on a treasure hunt. I am hunting for the perfect snowflake. I want to photograph snow. We had a bit of snow this last day and I had a chance to play. It is still too warm to capture flakes because they are melting too fast. Here are some of the photos I did manage to capture. I still have a lot to learn. I hope you enjoy.

Rose on the Blue Spruce

Piled up and delicate

Icy Chimes

Snowflake on the BBQ

16 responses to “Today is a Snow Day

  1. Stunning. What more can I say.

  2. Maggie, popped in to check your latest photo challenge but am indulging myself here with your incredible snowflakes. The detail is both stunning and subtle. All beautiful!

  3. Awesome photos! I live in Minnesota and we are hardly getting any snow. It sucks. :/

  4. snow can be so beautiful… and it can help us see familiar things differently. I like the way you photographed the snow. I wish you many more snow days.

  5. Pingback: Doggies, Snow and Colorado Skies « Work the Dream

  6. Love your photos – thanks for sharing!

  7. You have a dynamite camera. What wonderful detail. Lucky you. Although, I must say, I’m ready for spring. You can keep all of that snow. šŸ˜‰

  8. Absolutely stunning images!

  9. They look pretty stunning to me well done!

  10. Great photos! Rose on the blue spruce to the right and left bottom…crystals that are beautiful!

  11. just so unbelievable… good job ~mkg

  12. Maggie! You are awesome! Your photos are spectacular! I just cannot imagine getting something like that.
    All I could think of today with our new 6″ of snow….was: “try to capture some snowflakes like Maggie did!” I must have tried for nearly an hour! I got a few icy looking “things”…but nothing like your lovely starry creations. Then, after adding another lens, I noticed they were clumping. Rats. The temperature had risen! So I had the same problem. I don’t think my new macro is as strong as yours. I will try adding my extension tubes and see if I can get closer the next time! I’m so happy to have snow! Snowshoes tomorrow! (unless the new snow is drier and then I’ll be after the snowflakes again! lol) Wonderful post!

    • The weather needs to be really cold and I have to use a tripod or the slightest movement ruins it. Keep on trying. I can’t wait to see what you have taken. Thank you for your encouragement.

  13. You learn fast. These photos are beautiful!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

