Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready


I am always ready to try new things, ready for an adventure. While in Skagway Alaska, Sarah and I decided to go rock-climbing. I had tried it once indoors. Let me just say that the indoor climbing walls are a lot different to the real thing.

We travelled to the climbing site and I got my harness on. 

I have my harness on and I am READY

 The company gave us a powder blue helmet to put on. I couldn’t help but feel relief, knowing that when I fall from the top of the cliff, my helmet will save me.
A few last-minute adjustments while I looked up… waaaay up.The first step.

Surveying the cliff

 
As I placed my fingers on the cold hard rock, I wondered how I will be able to cling to the rock. the ledges were so tiny.

The first step.

I soon got the hang of it and climbing happened.

a view from below. can you see that tiny person way up there?

I am very proud that I made it to the top, not once but twice, in two different sections. Climbing is hard work. It takes a lot of leg strength to push up each step of the way.

a cropped photo of me at the top.the second climb is higher still.

 Repelling back down is the most fun because it takes no strength.

Just lean back and jump your way down.

 I am ready to give it another go. Anyone want to come with me? This is something I want to continue as part of my healthy new lifestyle.

45 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

  1. Maggie…I am so impressed. This is an extraordinary feat! I mean really! I don’t like being on the top of a ladder! Kudos to you!

  2. I’m well beyond my gutsy stage. 🙂

  3. You are one gutsy woman Maggie! I love reading about your adventures and you are inspiring. The pictures are always fun too 🙂

  4. Congrats on making it to the top, twice. I admire your courage. I think I’ll try something that demands less physical exertion. Thanks for the invite though. 😉 Stay healthy and safe. 🙂

  5. What a grand adventure! All of the small steps and overcoming obstacles got you to the top-and you had a completely different view (of yourself and where you now stood). Bravo!

  6. Wow! Impressive!

  7. Thanks for stopping by. Kudos to you for tackling this challenge! Loved reading about it. 😉

  8. I’m not sure if I’d be brave enough to attempt this! It looks like you had fun, though!

  9. You are really inspiring, Thanks for all the inspiration through this post. Best wishes to you. 🙂

  10. What a fun-loving face, Maggie! You absolutely sparkle! I love the photos of the ice, the cyclamen, the rock cliffs…everything! I’m glad I came by. It’s wonderful to encounter such enthusiasm and love of life.

  11. Holy smokes Maggie, you rock! Make sure you keep your tether thingy tight or rock climbing might not be so healthy for you!! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate it. Off to see what else you are up to! Margie

  12. Pingback: Get Ready! It’s Showtime! « Simply Charming

  13. You are an inspiration and simply awesome lady! Thanks for a great post! 🙂

  14. You’re one phenomenal lady, Maggie! You inspired me that much. Keep it up.

  15. Your zest for life and adventure inspires me to venture on things I always dream of doing. Your words lingers like a sweet song, “I am always ready to try new things, ready for an adventure.” This should be my goal for 2012. Life is too short not to live it to the fullest. Best wishes…and Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

  16. Holy wow! That looks like great fun.

  17. You are a brave lady. As klutzy as I am, I’d be smacking my funny bone coming and going, I imagine. LOL. I think I’ll stick to riding even though rock climbing does look challenging and fun.

  18. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew

    You are one brave lady and these pictures are fantastic. Hugs

  19. Well you were certainly ready for that challenge! 🙂

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Ready « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  21. Great post! What a wonderful experience and perfect photos to document your adventure! Congratulations!

  22. Wow, the wall of the cliff sure looks really steep – well done! It must have been exciting repelling down 🙂

  23. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready | Children's Books & More

  24. Pingback: 7 FEBRUARY 2012 : READY FOR A HARD BREATH OF AIR. « 2012 – ON THE BENCH

  25. Maggie!!! I’m so proud of you! You looked victorious climbing up that gigantic rock!
    I wish I could be that bold…or active…*sigh*…
    Thanks for the wonderful photos…and your beautiful smile that lighted up the whole collection…

    @))–>>—–

  26. You are a brave woman! Very cool!

  27. I’d love to join you but it might take some time before I’m in the area! You really are living life in glorious colour!

  28. Well done it must have felt great when you reached the top!

  29. Yay, you did it Maggie! 🙂 How high was the rock? I usually am scared of heights. But that was great and was very brave of you!

  30. What an awesome adventure! Kudos for climbing to the top twice Maggie.

  31. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready « Changeversations

  32. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready « Thirdhandart's Weblog

  33. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready « Mike Hardisty Photography

  34. compare another climbers:
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/weekly-photo-challenge-one/
    there’s a climbing slide show with music – they have no real mountains there 🙂

  35. You are braver than me, Maggie, but I admire your courage and determination – well done! The photos are great!

  36. I’ll leave it up to you..Just keep sending the great photos 🙂

  37. Good for you! Seems like you’re ready for any challenge that comes your way. 🙂

  38. Wow Maggie! You are very courageous…

  39. Rock climbing is so fun 🙂

  40. What a neat adventure.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

