No way, I don’t need your help…


Me? ask for help? are you kidding? I am not stupid, I can do it. I don’t need any help.

Hope. Which Way?

I do prefer to figure things out on my own. I rarely ask for help with anything. I think it is an independence thing. I want to be in charge, I want to feel like I have accomplished “it” on my own. I worry about looking foolish or “stupid’ if I have to ask for help or directions. I wonder why that is? Is this some childhood trauma that needs to be dealt with? I know I was a bit of a geek as a teenager, although not a brainy one. I was the girl who didn’t fit in because I didn’t have the nice clothes and I was not good at sports and I was extremely shy.

Now that I am an adult and well into my adulthood I may add, I have overcome the shyness, I have a great wardrobe and while I am not athletic, I love hiking and canoeing and rock climbing as well as other individual sporty things.

So the question remains, why do I feel uncomfortable asking for help?

I think this question is opening up a new area to explore and I hope grow. Time to get out the journal and let my thoughts spill out onto the pages.

Thanks for listening and … um… .. I am asking for help… any advice?

Powered by Plinky

6 responses to “No way, I don’t need your help…

  1. UI meant to tell you how beautiful your pics are. They are some of, if not the best natural pic teures I’ve seen. I too like to photograph wildlife, generally from my boat; bald eagles, herons, big catfish I’ve caught, our view of the lake from our cabin, etc
    Later, God Bless

  2. I depend on God for my help, though I don’t bother Him over any little thing. Besides He knows what you need when you need it, but He does like to hear from you. That’s a benefit of living my life for Him.

    1 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.
    2 My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.
    3 He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.
    4 Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.
    5 The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.
    6 The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.
    7 The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.
    8 The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.
    Psalms 121

    May God Bless,
    Capn Richard

  3. Maggie I have trouble asking for help because I am afraid I am going to bother someone or that who I ask for help will think I will become a pest. It’s very hard for me to ask for help. I understand your feelings. I agree with snagglewordz, I think we are too hard on ourselves!

  4. Some day, when we are old and grayer, we will need help whether we ask for it or not. So maybe it is a good idea to start to practice asking for it now.

  5. Pride often gets in the way. I have not asked for help because I think it makes me feel “less than”. Trying to fight my own external as well as my internal battles alone and often crying, but no “not gonna ask for help”!

    Now, older and wiser,, I know now what I did not know back when. The best way to get someone to really listen to your cry is to start the sentence with: “I need your help” That puts the other person in a position of authority; one where they feel valuable and useful to you and that you consider them worthy. (of whatever it is that you need help with (dangling preposition 🙂 )

    Hope this makes sense. I fall back in the old rut most of the time :/

  6. I think a lot of people face the same issue, especially very independent people. Often one becomes used to giving, but finds it hard to receive. I also think there is a fear of asking for help, a fear that people will see it as a weakness. We are too hard on ourselves. When people ask you for help do you see it as a weakness?

    I always tell myself that there is pleasure in giving (help) to others and, by accepting help I am, in turn, making someone happy. Nice post!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

