Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch… of a new healthy lifestyle


The Weekly Photo Challenge this week stumped me … Launch? are you kidding? None of the spaceships I am working on in my backyard are ready to launch. So I resorted to thinking….

It is a new year and I have resolved to change my ways. I need to embrace a healthier lifestyle. So…. Right here, right now, I am officially launching the new healthy life of Maggie.

I resolve to eat a rainbow of colourful veggies every day.

a rainbow of veggies everyday

I resolve to eat fresh fruit daily:

Fresh fruit

It is important to get enough fibre and to eat healthy whole grains. Quinoa is a great choice.  in 1/4 cup I will get 3 gms of fibre and 5 gms of protein. Take that white rice, you are outta here.

A healthy lifestyle includes so much more than eating the right food. Excercise is also crucial.

I resolve to go to the gym at least 3 times a week and to walk at least 15 km each week.

I resolve to keep fit and to hit my goal weight by April Fools Day. so for inspiration, I indulged and bought a magazine.

Do you think I can look like that by Apriil 1st?, Shake your head Maggie, you are retired!. those days are gone. (but not forgotten.)

I have been suffering with a cold and Bronchitis for the past week or so. I am feeling better and finally ready for 2012, better late than never. I am ready to start my new Lifestyle.

38 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch… of a new healthy lifestyle

  1. I love your post and sense of humour! A lady after my own heart! lol!

  2. I like all my veggies esp artichoke hearts. Cook most with touch of garlic and pinch of sugar. Only one I can’t stand – lima beans – yuk. Thanks visit my blog.

  3. Thank you for following my blog, Happy Healthy Living. May you have a very Happy Year of the Water Dragon.

  4. Reblogged this on Healthy, Happy Living and commented:
    I like the way this blogger thinks!
    PLEASE MAKE SURE TO CHECK OUT THE ORIGINAL BLOGGER’S POSTS. They were kind enough to let me share this wonderful article with you.

  5. Hooray you! Way to go and all that positive affirmation stuff. I am so with you on this.

  6. Thank you for following my blog, Exploration Art. I look forward to reading your blog as well. May you have a very happy Year of the Water Dragon.

  7. Pingback: URL

  8. Love your photos! I’ve been a vegetarian and recently been a pescatarian. Being healthy has its rewards.

    Here’s to healthy living..!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch « Changeversations

  10. I am stumped too on this challenge !! yours is a nice idea…… I will take some cue from your idea. And thanks for the wishes, the year has been good and I hope the blessings and wishes from all of you will make this year a happy one too.

  11. a very practical and healthy launch. all the best to you!
    go veggies, go! 🙂
    thanks for sharing

  12. nice interpretation

  13. A great plan! Might I add that low-fat yoghurt etc. is filled with sugar and sodium to make it taste good so instead try to eat small portions of full fat milk, yoghurt and cheese. Think of it this way, the more natural the food, the less tampered with by humans, the better it is for you (less processed, less added or removed, the better). I lost 28 pounds by doing essentially what you are doing above (minus the gym) along with what I have mentioned. You can do it! Granted I do not have great abs or anything but I’m at a decent weight. Weights or resistance exercise might be next on my list. Good luck!

    • Thanks for the tip. I have a lot to learn and will be delving into all aspects of healthy eating and healthy living. I will share as I learn from reasearch and from others. I am so glad you werre able to succeed. I need to be inspired by others success. Thanks again.

  14. Pingback: Masquerading Our Way In 2012 | this man's journey

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch | Inspired Vision

  16. Pingback: My Day 1 Healthy Dinner is Served | Living Life in Glorious Colour

  17. What a great way to launch the new year!

  18. Great thing to launch and the veggies look SO GOOD!

  19. Northern Narratives

    Great post for launch.

  20. Maggie,
    Hitting the PUBLISH button is the scariest of all, isn’t it! And yet – you did it! Best of luck on your list of steps to a new and healthy you! I’m taking baby steps myself and discovering what lies within!

  21. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch « An Uneducated Palate

  22. Pingback: Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  23. Good luck..Hope you feel better and have a happy, healthy 2012 🙂

  24. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  25. Good luck to you Maggie! Those beautiful colors you have captured could be great incentive. I have been trying to stay with my heart healthy walks because our weather has been superb. The diet I haven’t been so good about. Need to concentrate on vegetables!

  26. Great interpretation and very good luck with your launch into a healthy lifestyle. 🙂

  27. Cheers to your healthy diet launch… 🙂

  28. Pingback: Launch (Weekly Photo Challenge 2012) « Cardinal Guzman

  29. Good luck Maggie I wish I had your resolve to re-launch my life style!

  30. Hey maggie, you have given yourself a GREEN CHALLENGE or you can say self assignment. But don’t take it lightly.

    And yes that HEALTH MAGAZINE will surely inspire you 🙂

  31. Great Entry Maggie I love that way you posted such a great article
    and truly very helpful 🙂

  32. Love your launch! Good luck and stick with it. I also love that first photo of the veggies.

  33. My response is “in the box’- I love that yours is OUT of the box.
    Colorful photos ans I am going to read some of the articles cause I ate too many cookies at Christmas.

  34. Good for you Maggie. I need to do that too. It’s a great interpretation of the challenge and by telling everyone you are now motivated to continue. I wish you success with your own personal challenge.

  35. I absolutely love this post and am right there with you my friend!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

