Remembering Prairie Sunsets


I looked at some photos taken on a trip across the country and remembered a wonderful day spent in southern Alberta. We visited the Red River Coulee with my nephew Mike and his wife Michelle.

The sun was getting low in the sky and cast a beautiful glow across the grass of the prairie.There were interesting rocks covering the coulee. this one huge rock was round and seemed out of place because it was so round. Too big to roll down the hill, although the thought did cross my mind.

In the glow.

We lingered there, watching as the sun set.

fence post and grass

Alberta Sundown

As the sun vanished below the horizon

13 responses to “Remembering Prairie Sunsets

  1. All of your photos are amazing. That big rock is fascinating. 🙂

  2. Stunning photographs! I especially like the 2nd one. 🙂

  3. These are absolutely stunning! I love them all, but I think the one with the sun going down through the fence is my favorite!

  4. Northern Narratives

    Such beautiful photos. I really like the rocks 🙂

  5. These are beautiful. I love the fence post and grass silhouette, the color just stands out.

  6. Oh how I enjoy these pictures! I love the ruralness of them-the prairie grass, the posts, the wire fencing and the warm colors of a golden sunset. The golden time. Perfectly lovely snaps Maggie!

  7. Gorgeous photos capturing this sunset!

  8. These were some of the most beautiful photos I’ve seen on your blog…great work!

  9. Stunning photos Maggie, absolutely awesome!

  10. Wonderful photos and the big? round stone is fascinating 🙂

  11. Absolutely magnificent photos!
    May I ask what kind of camera you used and if you used a filter?
    I’m trying to learn from all the photographers on wp.
    Thanks

    • Thank you for visiting and for your kind words. I have a Nikon D90 camera. I only used the regular UV and polarizing filters on these photos. The colours on the prairieswere so intense that day, perfect lighting for photography.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

