Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter… it is here!!


We have been waiting for winter… with dread. I am not a cold weather enthusiast. I looked out the window … SNOW … living in Canada it is inevitable. Since leaving the west coast, I have never seen a winter without it.

The backyard was covered in the white stuff

Sidney couldn’t wait to get out into the snow.

She enjoyed playing by herself for a few minutes.

Catching snowflakes on her tongue.and burying her nose in the snow

Sidney gave me a look… she wanted me to come outside and play with her.

"What are you doing? I am waiting for you.. come on, it is snowing, let's have some fun."

I have a cold, I do not want to get dressed, get my shoes on and go outside. I just want to light a fire and snuggle in a blanket.

Please? Sidney begged with her hang-dog look...

I knew what I had to do, it is too hard to resist those eyes…

I had no choice…

I called my husband to go play with Sydney.

But first, Sidney had to wait inside while he cleared the deck.

and I… I closed the door, lit the fire and nursed my cold with a hot lemon drink.

15 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Winter… it is here!!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope « It is a Strange Life…

  2. Beautiful! We have yet to have snow that sticks around. Today it was close to 60 degrees! Unheard of in January in Rhode Island. But, yes, I’m sure the snow will come. Thanks for visiting my site and leaving a trail to yours.

  3. Pingback: Keeping Warm: Weekly Photo Challenge (Winter) « aNTibaKTeRiYeL

  4. Lovely photos! Is that a red twig dogwood in the first beautiful photo with the cute birdhouse?

  5. Great photos Maggie, pity you couldn’t go out to play! Hope you feel better very soon, been nursing something similar myself. Take care 🙂

  6. Hi,

    I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. http://queensincanada.wordpress.com/

    All the best, Jackie queen

  7. I would have done the same thing 🙂 Brrrrrr!!! Feel better soon!

  8. I grew up in North Dakota – so I can relate (I’ve seen enough snow / cold to last me several lifetimes). In person, anyway. In your photos it’s anther story… spectacular… very nicely captured, indeed!
    🙂

  9. These are wonderful. I love the first one white snow flakes falling 🙂 Hot lemon drink is good.

  10. Some wonderful expressions there – The snow really brings out the wonderful colours in Sidney’s coat 🙂 Kick that cold and have a great 2012!

  11. Smart girl! I would keep you company by the fire . . . as long as you promised NOT to sneeze on me.

    Great photos though. What a beautiful pup!

  12. I can’t believe you passed up playing in the snow with your dog. She’s not begging, she’s demanding you play! I hope you feel better soon so you can fulfill her wishes.

  13. Just hard flurries here today in Louisville, KY…but, I still get a little excited and feel the happiness of those pretty white flakes…Still got some kid in me I presume!

  14. I love that first photo with the falling snow.
    Feel better soon!

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

