Sunday Stills- 25 and 50 steps (for Oct 30)


I am a day late but wanted to post my Sunday Stills . The challenge is: “Choose a starting spot, walk 25 steps in any direction and take 3 photos. The 25 steps can be outside your home, inside your home, in your neighborhood or away from your neighborhood.
Once your steps have been counted out, you must anchor one foot, you can pivot on that foot but your anchor foot may not move.

We took the dog for a walk on the nature trails. This is where I started the first 25 steps count.

This land and trail is supported by the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority, The Nature Conservancy of Canada and York Region. The land was donated by the Arnold C Matthew Family.

After 25 steps, the milkweed was right beside me.

There was a pine tree nearby

Sidney had to come back to get me, she does not like to get too far ahead, even when she is off leash.

The challenge continues with : “Choose a starting spot, walk 50 steps, repeat the instructions above. The 50 steps can be in a different direction, a different location or the same as the 25 steps.” I chose a different place, further along the trail.

I started my fifty steps from this point.

I got down low for a shot of Sidney

one lone leaf was caught on a bare branch, waiting for a wind so it can continue its journey to the forest floor. I noticed a lot of pine needles were caught by this same branch.

a few berries, left uneaten, have shrivelled on the vine.

I was enjoying our walk, crunching the leaves as we walked. I took a lot more photos. I found a lot of mushrooms and strange fungus.

my daughter and the dog went on ahead, I am too slow when I have my camera.

this log was white with a strange fungus growth I have never seen.

Anyone want a sugar-coated cookie?

very colourful for fungus

the trail narrowed and the pine trees were very dense on the sides, like a wall.

an old woodshed along the trail. The property has been donated, this is the only building that remains.

Thank you for joining us on our hike in the Nature Preserve. I hope you enjoyed it. There is not many more opportunities to hike before the snow falls.

8 responses to “Sunday Stills- 25 and 50 steps (for Oct 30)

  1. The autumn is so beautiful 🙂

  2. Wonderful shots. I see you had a beautiful day 🙂

  3. I love the Sunday Stills idea. The pics are really interesting. I can almost smell the autumn air!

  4. Truly lovely shots, I enjoyed them! It’s wonderful when you go out for a walk and just admire the beauty of nature around you 🙂

  5. Lovely shots ~ especially the trail pictures. And that fungus does look like sugar coated cookies.

  6. I really enjoyed the photos…a lovely spot!

  7. What a great idea! the fungus is quite scarey, whatever can that white one be? Love the path with the pine walls and the great depth of field shots.

  8. That narrow trail photo has a lot of foreboding in it. Enough to make one claustrophobic. What a spot. If it was mine, I’d be out there thinning it, just to lift the mood.Though it is beautiful.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

