Sunday Stills: Rocks and Rock Formations.


Our recent travels took us across North America where we enjoyed the varied landscape and countless beautiful rock formations. My favorite place is Bryce’s National Park in Utah. The colours and beauty of the hoodoos are second to none. I could not stand at the top and look down, I felt compelled to hike down to walk among the stone people. It is a wonderful experience to touch the glory of the canyon.

The hoodoo's formed by the wind and rain are standing in an amphitheatre.

A Paiute Indian myth says “the animal legend people who lived in Bryce Canyon long ago, displeased the coyote. Angered, he turned all the people to rock.”

I was not content to look from above, I had to hike into the canyon. I was dwarfed by the height of the hoodoos

The trail took us through archways and along steep cliffs.

looking through the natural stone arch

The dry canyon floor has trees growing high, reaching up to touch the sun.

looking up in the narrow canyon, the red colour of the rocks glowed in the hot summer sun.

Stairs cut into the steep cliff to helped us climb back up to the top.

The stairway to the top was very long, switching back and forth up the canyon wall. As we trudged higher and higher along with the other travellers, we still marvelled at the beauty of this place through our sweat and panting.

15 responses to “Sunday Stills: Rocks and Rock Formations.

  1. There’s something in the fourth photo that make’s me gape — literally! All the photos are of course beautiful too.

  2. What dramatic photos, Maggie! This is an awesome part of creation that I probably will never see with my own eyes…so thanks for sharing! My favorite is the one looking up — but they are all spectacular! Kudos for being in such good shape, too. You didn’t take these pictures just ‘looking on from the sidelines’!! ~LOL~

  3. Definitely some rugged country; simply gorgeous!

  4. WOW! Those are all breath taking photographs. It’s such a beautiful spot. 🙂

  5. I’ve read about Bryce Canyon, but never seen so many gorgeous photos. It’s absolutely stunning. Must move it up my bucket list!

  6. Wow these photos are simply stunning!!

  7. breathtaking nature …

  8. Wow! What a fabulous place to visit; and what great photos.

  9. It really has an out-of-earth looks. Great shots and nice take on the challenge 🙂

  10. Awesome shots. I’ve been to Bryce and Zion twice . . . love them! 😀

  11. Amazing and beautiful photos. Made me appreciate nature more. You are lucky to see for yourself a beathtaking magic of God’s creation. Have a blessed day.

  12. I love it! Beautiful canyon! Must be a truly wonderful experience 🙂

  13. Beautiful canyon! Interesting myth. I really like the photo looking up.

  14. Beautiful country – looks like you had a great trip! Bryce is one of the western parks we still haven’t made it to. I need to just jump in the car and go – thanks for the inspiration.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

