Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun


I love this song by the beatles.. written by George Harrison..

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right
Little darlin’ it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darlin’ it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right
Little darlin’ the smiles returning to their faces
Little darlin’ it seems like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
And I say it’s all right
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes”

Photo taken in Bryce Canyon, Utah

on the edge of the canyon, a dead tree tried its best to block heat of the sun. It provided little shade, however.

Dead trees are great for sun photos, I like the play of shadows with the light,  and the twisting and gnarling of the branches. Sometimes, if you look carefully, you can see the haunting look of the trees eyes, a rather ghostly look.

Can you see them?

Arizona sun

30 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

  1. The rich tones in the first shot are spectacular! It’s so strange that such a seemingly barren place can be such a fertile area for photography.

  2. liked them all. First one is a great photo!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | A Green Sky Outside

  4. Pingback: Weekly photo challenge: SUN « Pictures in living color

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Missionary IOU 差 情 尋

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  7. The pictures in this post are amazing!

  8. Pingback: Reaching for the Sun | Living Life in Glorious Colour

  9. Wow! That is one of the best this week! Lovely!

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | Inspired Vision

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge ~ Sun | An Uneducated Palate

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun… | Mirth and Motivation

  13. Yes, the Beatles song came to my head when I read the prompt and I’ve added the video to my post… Beautiful shots Maggie! :-)

  14. Breathtaking photo the tree against the blue sky.

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun « Hurtled to 60 and Now Beyond…

  16. Very, very good ones!

  17. oh my goodness, absolutely spectacular shots!!!

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun | mothergrogan

  19. I love that song too – & I LOVE your photos!

  20. Great shots! I love the first one, in particular! :)

  21. Wow! I saw that first shot and thought it was spectacular, then I saw the other two. Great job on your entry! :)

  22. Dead trees can be beautiful, especially with a sun backup.

  23. The first one is my favorite. Great color blue in the sky. Thanks for sharing.

  24. Two subjects in one…like a lot! ~mkg

  25. Those trees are fabulous.

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

