Are You Listening to the Zoo


Zoos are educational. We listened carefully to all the animals, they each had important things to tell us. We were interested in what it is like to live in captivity.
I think this is a Softshell turtle that the children are talking to….

"Hey Tommy, I have a big bathtub, will you come home with me?"

"Sorry girls, I like living here, they feed me and besides, I have my eye on Tilly, that cute little thing on the log over there..... Don't look now,... but I think she is looking at me. Is she?"

I find I look for personalities in the creatures at the zoo. My experience with my pets indicate that they are each unique, with quirks and habits, little ways about them that differentiate each one from the other. I know these are wild creatures, but they are individuals creatures. This seahorse had plenty to tell us.

"I can't believe I ate the whole thing... "

I am warning you, flash that light in my eye once more and I am calling the authorities.

I am not a lying fish, I am a Lion Fish, Wanna hear me roar...?

"You would be grumpy too if you had to listen to that lying fish roaring all day long."

15 responses to “Are You Listening to the Zoo

  1. I’ve had a little experience with animals, and I believe that every individual is very special and unique.

  2. I love that talking bluish fish that warns you not to flash once more or elseā€¦
    Hehehe, beautiful brave fish! :-)
    I love her complementary colors!

  3. Thanks for the narrative and sharing your lovely photos!

  4. Seahorses are just the bomb!

  5. I am so “wowed”! That’s supposed to be a word beyond just a wow. :-)

    I love sea creatures, Maggie. This post is so entertaining.

  6. I like the captions you have given to this beautiful photographs. Great post. :)

  7. So cute your photos with the captions! Love them all! Thanks!

  8. I enjoy taking children to the zooo – they enjoy looking at the animals and are always amazed by what they see.

  9. I have mixed feelings about zoos – I see the necessity, especially for endangered species; but it seems wrong to keep animals in captivity like this.

  10. These are beautiful creatures. I love the seahorse! And, I laughed at your comment. That is precisely what he looks as if he’s saying!

  11. Love the personalities that you gave these beautiful zoo creatures. Awesome photos and captions!

  12. Hahahaha. Your post made me laugh today!

  13. I love the zoo. And I love photographing the animals there. You’re are amazing. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  14. Great captions. I enter the New Yorker caption contest every week.

  15. Very amusing post. I wasn’t aware that fish talked …. see, you learn something everyday. ;)

Please Leave a Reply, I would love to hear from you

